Mira and Baku
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors
Theodore, Michelle, illustrator.
Published
Toronto : Annick Press, [2023].
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Children's Picture Books - 1st FloorJ P TRUUVERTChecked OutMay 12, 2024

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
Toronto : Annick Press, [2023].
Format
Book
Physical Desc
1 volume (unpaged) : colour illustrations : 21 x 29 cm
Language
English
Lexile code
AD
Lexile measure
500

Notes

Description
"With the help of a magical friend, a young girl searches for her missing father in this poignant story set during Japanese internment in World War II. It's a week until Mira's birthday, and she's getting worried. Where is Papa? He has never missed her birthday before. When Mira's friend Baku, a creature from Japanese folklore, offers to help, they journey over farmlands and forests, mountains and river mouths, gathering clues to Papa's whereabouts--clues that echo Mira's memories and overheard conversations in the camp where she lives with Mama. Lushly illustrated by up-and-coming illustrator Michelle Theodore, this tender, moving picture book by debut author Sara Truuvert explores the profound impacts of family separation and the different forms comfort can take for a child processing loss. Further reading on Japanese internment and a note from the author add to readers' understanding of this underrepresented period of history, making it an instant classic. For fans of Baseball Saved Us, Mira and Baku is an emotional exploration of the power of imagination and hope in difficult times."--,Provided by publisher.
Target Audience
AD500L,Lexile
Target Audience
Decoding demand: 52 (medium),Semantic demand: 63 (high),Syntactic demand: 68 (high),Structure demand: 85 (very high),Lexile

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Truuvert, S., & Theodore, M. (2023). Mira and Baku . Annick Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Truuvert, Sara and Michelle, Theodore. 2023. Mira and Baku. Annick Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Truuvert, Sara and Michelle, Theodore. Mira and Baku Annick Press, 2023.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Truuvert, Sara,, and Michelle Theodore. Mira and Baku Annick Press, 2023.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.